Chuc Mung
Nam Moi

10 february 2013

Tet falls sometime between the last ten days of January and the middle part of February.

Snakes: speak little but have tremendous wisdom. They are associated with the damp earth. Snakes symbolize the eternal revolution of the ages and the succession, dissolution and regeneration of humanity. Snake year people are considered calm and gentle, profound, compassionate, but may fly off the handle at times. They are determined and persistent. His hours are 9am to 11am.

Years: 1917, 1929, 1941, 1953, 1965, 1977, 1989, 2001, 2013

Character: A natural philosopher, the Snake is blessed with a profound wisdom. Always on a mission, they are dedicated to their chosen quest. Seductive and mysterious, many are blinded by their hypnotic charm, unforgettable elegance and style.

LINKS: English page Têt, det vietnamesiske nytår * Things Asian: The Vietnamese Zodiac - Sequence of the Tet Celebration Tet, vietnamese new year 
Banh Tet - Essential to Tet in the South of Vietnam

Têt 2016 8/2 Abe/Monkey * Têt 2015 19/2 Ged/Goat * Têt 2014 31/1 Hest/Horse * Tet 2013 10/2 Slange * Tet 2012 dragens år * Têt 2011 year of the Cat * Têt 2010 year of the Tiger * Têt 2009 Year of the Buffalo * Tet 2008 Year of the Rat * Year of the Pig 2007 * Tet 2006 Hundens år * Tet 2005 Hanens år

The Ho Chi Minh Spring Festival Fair was opened Jan.17 2001, at the Tao Dao Culture Park. VNA Photo

In Vietnam, the calendar was devised based on the regularly changing phases of the moon. Most Vietnamese, even city dwellers and overseas Vietnamese, have a lunar calendar in their homes to consult for festivals and auspicious dates. Because of the use of the lunar calendar, the actual days of the New Year vary from year to year.

The equinoxes and solstices that marked the beginning of the European seasons were taken as the midpoint by the Asian calendar with the result that each Vietnamese season begins six weeks earlier than its European counterpart.

Each year is "sponsored" sequentially by one of the twelve animals of the Vietnamese zodiac: the rat comes first, then the ox or buffalo, followed in order by the tiger, cat, dragon, snake, horse, goat or ram, monkey, cock, dog, and lastly, the pig. Of these animals one is mythical (the dragon) and four (rat, tiger, snake and monkey) are wild, shunning contact with humans. Seven are domesticated. Every twelve years, the sponsorship reverts to the same animal. The years 1976, 1988, 2000, 2012 are dragon years.

In addition the Vietnamese use another set of names by repeating a cycle of 60. The 60-year cycle is made up of combinations of the twelve animals representing the earthly signs of the Vietnamese zodiac and ten heavenly or celestial signs usually called "stems". The Asian calendar forms a cycle of 60 years similar to the western century of one hundred years. The 60-year cycle begins when the first of the twelve zodiac signs is joined with the first of the ten celestial "stems". When each of the ten "stems" is matched with an animal, the result will be 60 different sets. The celestial "stem" attached to the zodiac animal provides modifying influences on the characteristics of the animal. For example, the year of the dog sign can be "modified" by each of ten different associated "stems". Each year has import for humans who have converging or diverging signs.

The Vietnamese find certain things can bring you good luck or bad luck during this holiday time. Here is a helpful list for you to follow should you find yourself celebrating Tet:

  • Don't sweep the floor during the first day of Tet. You may sweep out the good fortune.
  • If the first animal to cry is that of a rooster, the harvest may be poor.
  • The first visitor on New Year's Day brings either good or bad luck to the household. Many people invite a respected person to be the first visitor to their home on New Year's Day.
  • Whatever happens on tho first day of the new year will happen the rest of the year, too.

Tet 2013 10/2 Slange - Tet 2012 dragens år - Têt 2011 year of the Cat - Têt 2010 year of the Tiger - Têt 2009 Year of the Buffalo * Tet 2008 Year of the Rat * Year of the Pig 2007 * Tet 2006 Hundens år * Tet 2005 Hanens år * Tet 2004 Abens år * Têt 2003: Gedens år * Têt 2002: Hestens år